Why Turkey?

plasticpaddy

I would like to hear all about investing in Turkey, good and bad stories; all yer political, racial, historical, economic reasons and prejudice as to why or why not to invest in Turkey. I am an independent researcher. By the way London Stock exchange puts Turkey in the 4th best place to invest in 2007, for you guys compiling "10 best place to invest" list.

Why to?
Stunning coastline
Lots to see
Relatively cheap to eat out
Great hinterland (a little iffy further east granted)
Good connections
Cheap internal travel
Clean sea (or as clean as the Med can be)
Relatively decent quality of build

Why not?
People (though I must profess to meeting some really decent folks inland and on the Syrian border)
Price of developments
Security

After been there on holidays I was amazed at how beautiful Turkey was. It has a perfect climate on the med side anyway. People say how nice places like Croatia and Bulgaria may be..having been to those destinations they are not near Turkey for pure scenery. There is alot to do there also. The people are their own worst enemy though and I met tourists who were afraid to go to the market and city centre in Kusadasi as the vendors annoy the hell out of you and can be rude to people for not buying. However I remember been in Morrocco on holidays 12 years ago and again 3 years ago and it was like 2 different places as over that time they learned talking down to a woman and offering camal exchanges to their boyfriend was a little insulting.. Turkey (In the resorts) will learn lessons also so it may be different in 10 years time. Terrorism is a problem, as I am sure everyone remembers the tragedy of the poor girl from Waterford while her family were on holidays there. This issue cant be ignored.