House freezing - how can I make best use of gas central heating system?

AnnieC

Hi All,

Apologies if this comes across as the most clueless question ever but I'm freezing!

My 3-bed house has gas central heating which also provides the hot water and I can't seem to keep the house warm at all as soon as the heat is turned off and I need help as I've zero knowledge of how the system works!
I have the thermostat set to 30 degrees celsius, the heat is set to come on at 4am-7am in order for us to have hot water for showers first thing and also to heat the house before we get up. It then is set for 3pm-5pm again so that there is enough hot water to give my little girl a bath before bed (every second night) and that the house is warm for when I come home from work/daughter home from creche. This works fine on the days that we're out of the house during the day but not on the days we're at home (I jobshare).

Basically my main question is, is it possible to have the heat on constantly at a lower setting on the thermostat so that the house is warm all day rather than freezing between 7am and 3pm without having massive gas bills?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks

AnnieC

Basically my main question is, is it possible to have the heat on constantly at a lower setting on the thermostat so that the house is warm all day rather than freezing between 7am and 3pm without having massive gas bills?

Yes.

30C is very high. If you set the thermostat at 21 or even 22 you could leave the heating on much longer without a huge cost increase. The problem may the the long periods where there is no heat at all - from your post this looks like from 5pm until 7am and then from 7am until 3?

I don't think many houses would have a chance to warm up properly with gaps like this. You might find that e.g. half an hour on, half an hour off over 6 hours can work better than 'constant' for 3 hours.