Solictor 'forgot' to charge us stamp duty on mortgage?

2Packs position is not logical. (BTW I am also a practising solicitor).

It is absolutely normal to quote a fee and to include an estimate of the outlay - but the exact outlay to be ultimately charged is the exact outlay actually made (exact for that pesky "miscellaneous outlays" figure - which is outside the scope of this post).

Outlays can change. For example, stamp duty rates and land registry fees change from time to time. Once upon a time, stamp duty was payable on a mortgage once it went over £20k. If I had "quoted" outlay of £200 on a mortgage at the relavant time, if the client had accepted my quote, and if the mortgage was then made exempt before stamping, could I properly bill this money to the client and keep it for myself? Clearly not. As I didn't have to spend it, it would be wrong to collect it under the guise of "outlay". If I don't spend an outlay, I should send it back to client. If I spend an outlay, I should recover it from client. This is so basic to the standard terms of trade for lawyers the world over that it is quite possibly an implied term of the contract with your lawyer, even if not mentioned in writing.

Incidentally, the "kitchen installer" analogy is equally lacking in logic. If the kitchen installer's quoted fee was based on labour only, there might be some valid way to compare the two. But when the kitchen guy buys his components, he adds a margin to the price at which he supplies you, then adds something for labour and comes up with an "all-in" price. When a laywer pays land registry fees, search fees or stamp duty for you, he doesn't add a markup of 20%. He simply pays these sums on your behalf and gets the money back from you. The Land Registry service is not something the solicitor "sells" to you. All he sells is his time.