Pension Query

N

nmason2512

Hi !

I have been working with a Company for the last 13 years but handed in my notice at the end of Nov 07 in order to take a year's career break. I had a pension with the Company (for 10yrs). They have recently written to me outlining my options for my pension and asking me to advise them of which option i wish to avail of.

The options are: 1) Leave my benefits in the pension Scheme in Paid Up form and let them accumulate in value up to retirement date (25/12/2029), OR 2) Transfer the value to another pension scheme, personal retirement bond or PRSA.

I'm not really sure what I should do ! At the moment I plan to go back to work at some stage, possibly back to the same Company, i.e. I have not given up work for good ! Should I leave the benefits in the Company's scheme as paid up ? or should I set up my own personal pension & transfer the value to it ?

Any advice ?
Tks in advance !

Had a look through some similar queries/answers in the existing threads. Feel more informed now. Thanks !

If there is the possibility of going back to the same company check the Trust Deed to see the rule for calculating pensionable service.
Some DB schemes allow seperate periods of service to be combined.
In this case it may be best to stay in the scheme as you would continue to accrue pension at your future (higher ??) salary for the existing 10 years service.

The options are: 1) Leave my benefits in the pension Scheme in Paid Up form and let them accumulate in value up to retirement date (25/12/2029), OR 2) Transfer the value to another pension scheme, personal retirement bond or PRSA.