Pension - if retiring at 60 / 65

Davida

Hi - I worked full time in the private sector from the age of 17 - 31 (1989 - 2003), had three children and looked after kids at home (2003 - 2010), returned to work in a different company part-time from (2011-2016)

No real pension for the above (I think 2 years pension contributions by me in 2001-2003 and then to a different company in 2014-2016)

I'm now a teacher in secondary school on full time contract since 2016 but want to look at options of retiring at 60 (ten years time).

The whole pension aspect is a blackhole to me - I can contact HR but it's by email and it can take months for them to get back on general/non urgent pension queries.

I should have enough contributions for State Pension (but that probably won't kick in until I'm 67). I was wondering if there is any indication of what general amount I'd expect to receive from my pension as a teacher if I did retire at 60, 65 or 67 (note: my actual contract states 70 is my retirement age !! I can barely imagine being able to teach in my mid/late 60s let alone at 70).

Any thoughts/guidance/advice or information would be really appreciated. Many thanks.

I was wondering if there is any indication of what general amount I'd expect to receive from my pension as a teacher if I did retire at 60, 65 or 67 (note: my actual contract states 70 is my retirement age !! I can barely imagine being able to teach in my mid/late 60s let alone at 70).

It looks like you are in the Single Pension Scheme. You can work until age 70 at the maximum but your "normal retirement age" is whatever the State Pension Age is at the time. Currently it is 66 but it may well rise to 67.