Pension concern:Where can I get independent advice?

jph

I have recently changed employment. In my previous employment there was an outstanding issue with the pension fund which had not been resolved when I left and is on-going.

In the meantime I am trying to set up a pension fund with my new employer and as I am new to this I am finding it overwhelming. Where can I get independent advice that will help me to navigate through what seems to be a jargon maze?

jph

Re: Pension concern

I have recently changed employment. In my previous employment there was an outstanding issue with the pension fund which had not been resolved when I left and is on-going.
What sort of issue if you are at liberty to say? Did you not get the usual form on leaving outlining your pension options (e.g. take a refund of personal contributions net of tax if less than 2 years in scheme, leave invested, transfer to another occupational scheme, transfer to a buy out bond/pension retirement bond)?
In the meantime I am trying to set up a pension fund with my new employer and as I am new to this I am finding it overwhelming.
What do you mean by this? Are you trying to establishe a new occupational scheme or employer sponsored (and maybe contributed to) PRSA or something?
Where can I get independent advice that will help me to navigate through what seems to be a jargon maze?
There is a wealth of material here on AAM. But if necessary you should talk to a good pension consultant, authorised advisor or a good multi-agency intermediary.

Clubman hi,

the situation is long and complicated and I wasn't aware that I should have been given options on leaving - so that is something I should pursue with my former employer.

In my new employment (small) other staff do not appear to have taken the option of pension and as I am the only one interested I will be looking to either transfer or start afresh.