Pay UK VAT on import of business car?

M

macmac

Hi,

I am a sole trader, registered for VAT. I am thinking of buying a car, for business purposes, from a Northern Ireland VAT registered car dealer. I assume I do not pay the 17.5% VAT on the import as I am registered in Ireland. Is this correct?

Thanks,

Mac

As in Ireland you can not claim back the vat on a passenger vehicle only commercial therefore you may not be entitled to have the NI invoice without vat.

You would give the car dealer in the north your vat number. He does not charge you vat on the sale.
However you would be caught for VRT. you better check out revenue .ie for vrt cost before you commit as it can be quite expensive

howareya said:
You would give the car dealer in the north your vat number. He does not charge you vat on the sale.
If this happens, you can expect a phone call or visit from your friendly Revenue official looking for the VAT that was claimed inappropriately on the car. Revenue make a point of charging interest @1% per month plus penalties where an individual underpays tax by incorrectly claiming reliefs or exemptions. I do not know if this would apply here.

You actually don't claim vat at all. by giving the dealer your vat number he doesn't charge you the vat. this can be done. you can't claim vat on a car in Ireland anyhow. It just saves you paying across vat to northern Ireland.

howareya said:
You actually don't claim vat at all. by giving the dealer your vat number he doesn't charge you the vat. this can be done. you can't claim vat on a car in Ireland anyhow. It just saves you paying across vat to northern Ireland.

Wrong, wrong, 100% wrong.

Why is it that, i recently done accounts for an individual who sold alot of machinery to Ireland and UK. for all sales to UK no vat was charged the vat number of buyer was placed on the any uk inv and it was returned as an export on a vat return.