Options for a proprietary director

N

newcarneeded

I'm studying for accounting exams and have a pensions question which i hope one of the learned frequent posters would be able to answer! It's the tax paper but my question is geared at the pension options to a proprietary director.

Scenario:

A Proprietary director (100% shareholding with 25 years service in that capacity). As part of tax planning he wishes to plan for his retirement and set up a corporate pension scheme.

At retirement he has accumulated a fund of €300k and his average salary in 3 consecutive years of the 10 years preceding retirement was €134k.

Broadly I believe that there are now two options open to him with the proceeds of the fund.

Options for accumulated pension fund:

Option 1: 1.5 times salary
Subject to having 20 years service he can take up to 1.5 times his salary as a tax free lump sum (calculated on an average of any 3 years in the last 10 years prior to retirement.) With the balance of the fund he can buy an annuity. As the annuity will die with him or his spouse it is lost to his estate and for that reason he can choose to go down the AMRF/ARF route in option 2.

Under option 1 the director could take €200k as his tax free lump sum. The balance of €100k can be used to buy an annuity.

Option 2: AMRF/ARF

Alternatively the director can take up to 25% of the fund on retirement tax free and use the balance to put €63.5k into an AMRF with remainder into ARF, or if he has a guaranteed pension of €12.7k per annum there's no requirement for an AMRF and can put the full balance including the €63.5k after the 25% lump sum into an ARF.

Under option 2 his maximum tax free lump sum is €75k. He is also required to have a €12.7k minimum guaranteed income until age 75.

Questions: