Mortgage for a Temporarily Poor Student?

B

BadBoy

Hi all,

I'm a long-time reader/first-time poster and would like some advice. This is yet another of those "how much can I get for a mortgage" questions, but with a twist, I think/hope.

I am a research PhD student in receipt of a fixed stipend of €1058.33 per month. Between us, my girlfriend and I are the proud earners of roughly 40K per year. My salary position (it adds up to a wholesome €12,700 in case you were wondering) is temporary and I imagine that I would be starting out on at least €35K when I finish (in about 2 years). At the moment, we both live at home so our costs are relatively low and we are both 25.

Our plan/dream is to buy a new 2-bed apartment off-plans in North Dublin and move in to one room and rent the other under RAR. For this, we guesstimate that we will need in the region of 380K-390K.

She has no savings, my SSIA is currently maxed and will mature to circa. 7K next April. We will probably get some help from parents for the initial deposit. We tightened up our (her ;)) budget within reason, and set out an achievable plan for the next 3 years. From that plan, we estimate in about 12 months time, we could comfortably(-ish) afford monthly repayments of circa. €1800, plus whatever we get for renting the extra room. We came to this figure by adding up everything that we currently spend out on loans etc., ie. money that we currently live without, which still leaves almost €1000 between us to survive for the month, which we have been used to doing for years now.....