Maintenance Increase On Divorce

dublinwoman72

I am in the process of applying for a divorce having been judicially separated almost 6 years.

I have 4 children, 3 in second level and one in primary. I work part time in education earning circa 1975 pm after tax, have 280 pm from children's allowances and get 1825 pm child maintenance with CPI from my ex husband, so have about almost 4100 pm after tax income. I have the usual expenses of young family which have gone up quite a bit over time as the kids get older. I do not have a mortgage thankfully , my mother helps with childcare.

My kids are in non-fee paying schools but there are the usual education expenses of "free education". There is a fund for children's future education current valued at €44,500 which is held jointly in AIB. My ex husband earns circa 7000 pm after tax, lives alone and has a mortgage in his new home of 550pm, so quite clearly has good disposable income.

I am seeking to up the maintenance on divorce application as the kids have got more expensive over time. My husband is resisting this and says we made a full and final settlement. I have limited savings. I have already consulted with a solicitor who does divorce work. I am just wondering what a judge would consider "reasonable maintenance" in the above circumstances as I feel I have a reasonable case for an increase in child maintenance as the kids are now a lot older since the original judicial separation.

Devil's advocate here...

Are you struggling to cover the childcare expenses? Is there strong grounds that you can demonstrate that you need additional child maintenance from your ex? What sort of level of additional maintenance are you thinking of? Are you considering it a final figure or one that would have to adjust with the children growing up?