Local housing need - how does one qualify?

Bluebean

hello,

I've noticed lately that a lot of sites in the area where I am currently renting are coming up for sale with the 'local housing need only' condition.

I have been renting for 10 years, neither my partner or I have any property anywhere. We have been renting in our current area for just over 2 years now.

What is the criteria for local housing need? How/where could I find out more about it?

Do you have to be born/reared in the area before you are considered?

Many thanks.

Have a look on your relevant county council website, under the planning section this should have the definition of your county's local needs. In general the needs are;
1. Have lived in the area for 10 years (at any point in time), this is proved by letters from priest, school etc.
2. Have worked in the area for 10 years, eg. worked on a farm
3. Your need exists because you have to look after relatives in the area and so need to move there to do this.
these are generally the requirements but do look on your county council website, it is usually (county)coco.ie.

thanks erw fan.

I have worked in the area for almost 7 years, rented in 2 different houses for the same length of time. I am not from the area, neither is my partner. We do not own any property.
As such, we are in 'need' of housing (we dont want to stay paying rent forever), and have mortgage approval for approx 350k.
We would really like to build rather than buy at this stage, as at least you would have your own little 1/2 an acre at the end of it all. Sites which require a local housing need still aren't exactly cheap (200k).
I looked at the county council site, but it doesn't seem to give a lot of info, just fill out a form and hope for the best.
I am in Galway, the area we are looking at is approx 10 miles outside the city.