Inheritance from father after 2nd marriage

seed

Hi eveyone, I'm a newbie here! My situation is that my brother and I (both adults with our own homes) are wondering about our rights to inheriting from our Dad (assuming he goes before we do). He and Mum are divorced and he has recently married a lady from a former soviet country (she has a green card). He assumes that we have a right to inherit his house and other assets upon his death and would like us to 'allow' her to live there until she dies or marries someone else (she is substantially younger than him).
Now, I know that life is not that simple...what are our rights and what is the best way for dad to have his wishes carried out?

Thanks, Seed

He needs to make a will to ensure that his wishes are carried out. AS part of that, his solicitor will ensure that the probate laws are adhered to. If a will is not made out then you can be sure that there will be problems.

Let me add... what if the following occured..what would your fathers wishes be then....... your father dies, she does not marry but forms another relationship, they have a child.... what is the situation then? He will need to think about scenarios such as that & base the will accordingly.

Get Legal advise.

ninsaga

Your step-mother is legally entitled to 1/3 of your father's estate as his wife if your father dies having made a valid will - ie this is the minimum she will be entitled to, he can leave his whole estate to her if he wishes.

If he dies intestate or without a valid will, then she is entitled to 1/2 of the estate and you and your brother will get 1/4 each.

Your father should have a will drawn up by a solicitor.

Thank you so much for your replies. Ninsaga, more children is not a possiblity in this situation. I guess he really needs to get a will made out-does he need to inform her of this will?