Hi about ROS on the 31st, october

arikv

I'm quite new to this country and to this forum, I read and searched the entire site but did not found anything related to my issue - tax and ROS registration, and am employed by an Irish firm, soon I'll be working as a self employed, but now I've heard that although I wasn't here in 2004, I have to file a blank form, so I surfed to ROS.ie, and have chosen 'Application to become a ROS customer'
I'm already lost on step1:
https://www.ros.ie/acl/apply_ran/step1

Can you please help me with the following:
1. Do I really need to file this one?
2. Tax Type/Approval No. - should it be 'income tax'?
3. Where do I get the 'Regn. No./ Id No.', or am I at the wrong place?

Thank a lot in advance,
Arik

You're currently a PAYE worker I presume ? Are you currently been stopped tax by your employer ? The second number is I believe your RSI number if you're PAYE.

I'd give them a call

I use it as a practicioner and find the help desk very useful when I have to contact them

They also work long hours

Their number from ouside Ireland is + 353 1 2771178

and their email address is [email protected]

BUT if you were not resident then you do not have to file a tax return for 2004

[email protected]

Thanks you both, I'll give them a call
I'm PAYE employee, but I'll double check with them today.

First you will need to register for Income Tax as a self-employed person through your local tax office first. You cannot register for ROS while you are just a PAYE worker. However from early 2006, ROS can be used by PAYE workers but thats no help to you now!

So how do I do my tax returns this year?

In less then two weeks I'll be off to start working on my own, but for now I'm PAYE.
Presumably I do nothing this year, but then next year I file tax return, can the fact that I've done nothing this year can cause me any problems?

Thanks again

arikv said:
So how do I do my tax returns this year?