Don't know what to do with company pension

G

Ghost

I've been working with a company for 4 years. I paid 5% of my salary (~e25pw) into the company pension (Canadalife) and my company also paid 5%. Now that I've left, I wondering what can I do with that. Can I just leave it there until I retire? Or can I transfer it to a new (PRSA) pension?

The company I'm working with now are a very small company (3 employee family based company) and I get paid a net wage every week. I don't get any wageslip or anything. I'm abit worried there too that If I started a new pension that I wouldn't get the tax breaks I'm entitled to.

I know very very little about pensions, and am very discouraged to have used the pension calculator at [broken link removed]

I would only receive Estimated Private Pension at age 65 €8,200 (65%) when I retire.
I hope someone can help me out here.

When you leave pensionable employment you generally have several options:

(1) Leave your fund invested in the existing company scheme where it will (hopefully) continue to attract growth.

(2) Transfer to another employer's occupational scheme. This can be done even if (1) was initially chosen.

(3) Transfer your fund to a buy out bond - which is effectively a standalone pension fund controlled by you alone and not linked to any occupational scheme:

(4) Cash it in by obtaining a refund of your own personal/AVC contributions after deduction of tax. This only applies if you have been in the scheme less than two years. After two years your contributions and those of your employer are "locked in".

(5) Transfer to a PRSA although I'm not sure if (m)any providers are facilitating this at the moment.

When you leave you should be notified in writing of your options in this respect.