Credit Control Dept: How many calls per week before Harassment.

Kluivert

Hi there,

As a Credit Control I wanted to gauge what business owners would see as acceptable number of times per week to contact customers regarding overdue accounts.

My current approach is:

30 days + : Contact once per week.
60 days + : Contact once/twice per week.
90 days + : Contact twice per week.
120 days+ : Contact three times per week.

As a qualified accountant, I am friendly, professional and polite to all customers, even when they shout abuse at me, and I always try to make payment plans with customers.

90% of customers appreciate these approach and work with it very well. However there is 10% who will use any excuse under the sun to avoid me. Latest one is harassment. This would mainly apply to those with 90/120 days + balances.

I think my approach is correct and just wondering what other business owners would think of the call policy.

Thanks

I havr found from expierience that it is very difficult to get one rule that fits all.

Our customer base is varied between small sole traders and large multi-nationals with everything in between.

Over a period of time I have built up a pattern with each customer and chase money based on this.

The approaches include

Regular phone calls (at least one a week)
Emails (where the customer might try and deny any contact)
Making contact with the person who orders to let them know there may be a problem with supplies ( this I find gets a quick response)
Asking our sales rep to have a word with his contact.

None of it is perfect and we have certain customers who just have serious cash flow problems and won't pay until they can. With these we try to minimise our exposure in case of them going bust.

The approaches include

Making contact with the person who orders to let them know there may be a problem with supplies ( this I find gets a quick response)
Asking our sales rep to have a word with his contact.