Car Insurance for first timer

Q

quickquestion

Hi,

I've just bought a 94 1.2 corsa & am looking for insurance. i'm a 25yo female with no previous driving experience and the car is only worth a grand.

Everyones telleing me to go for 3rd party... is this right ? even if Comp is only 100 quid more expensive ?

Eagle Star have quoted me 1307 for 3rd p,f&t
Quinn Direct quoted 1275 and Axa 1,370 for 3rd p,f&t and 1460 for comprehensive...

What company should i go for ? i've read bad press about QD.. please advise, and also,
do i need a 'protected 'no claim discount' which will not be affected provided that not more than 2 claims occur during any 3 consecutive years of insurance ? If i take this from Eagle star, and if i change insurer next year, will i loose it ? or is it obselete if i take it cos this is my first year driving ?

I can't find any t&c's to insurance on the web & when you ask them on the phone they just babble on.

Any ideas & all advice is greatly appreciated !!

and no smart comments from the lads about women drivers !

Cheers

Hi qq,

there may be something to gain by taking out comprehensive insurance on a cheap car. If you build up your no claims bouns (comprehensive) on a cheap car and then use the percentage discount on a more expensive model 5 or 6 years down the line.

ajapale

fully comp or not

have to disagree wih ajapale. a ncb is not particular to a type of cover so it makes no difference if it is fully comp or not.
also most fully comp policies have an excess of at least a couple of hundred
you would be paying 100 euro for max 800 cover .

the only circumstances where you would be sensible claiming against this cover is where you wrote off your e1000 car in an accident with a third party and they were claiming against you as well.