Can't get Finance

E

eoino1986

Hi I was looking for a bit of Advice.

I am a Trainee Accountant in Dublin with a net income of €1500 per month, I owe €600 on a credit card €3000 on a personal Loan and €1600 on an overdraft all with AIB I am currently looking to consolidate and cancel the overdraft and credit card with a top up loan from AIB, but i would also like an extra €1000 in the consolidation loan for stuff like servicing the car and insuring it, but they seem very reluctant to give it to me. I currently have no savings and I havent missed any loan repayments

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated

Re: Cant get Finance

That's bad eh? So it's around 6.5-7 k you need? Why don't you go to credit union? You won't save much on interest they're all around the same and maybe you'd be better off just saying it's a personal loan/home improvements etc, which sounds better than consolidating debt- they won't ask for any proof of what you spend it on. I did that at the end of 2008 for just less than that amount.

Thanks for the reply But is it not true that you need savings in the Credit Union to take a loan from them

That's true sorry I forgot about that.

Have you met with the branch manager of your local bank to explain your case? Bring a plan with you about how you intend to meet living costs and make repayments.

If they say no then you should take your business to another bank.

If any more problems with say a second bank yoy try, I would then be trying for a loan of 1000 with another bank, lodge it into credit union, and then get loan of 7000 to pay it all back.

You shouldn't really be taking out loans for day to day living like car expenses.

While I accept your point i wouldnt call insuring a car a day to day motor expense when your net income every month is €1500