Advice for starting a business

OhPinchy

I have an idea for a business that I think could be very successful. It would involve creating a very large and powerful software application to fill a niche in the market and this would then be used by third-party companies who would renumerate us in some way (to be decided for it) for their use of it. I have total faith in the product, and it has been received positively by all friends I’ve mentioned it to (lame as this does sound).

I am a consultant for a technology/management consultancy firm so I have all the necessary skills to produce business requirements and functional specifications for this product. I have a friend from college who is a senior software developer/architect and would be willing to come on board and together we would create the technical specifications. It would be too large for two people to develop the code for, so at the moment I would perceive that we would need to take people on board (again I have good contacts in this field) at this stage.

At the moment the high-level plan is:

1. Research the market
2. Produce a concept/mission statement document (for explaining it to people)
3. Produce full business requirements document
4. Develop some rapid prototypes (for pitching)
5. Develop functional specs
6. Develop technical specs/detailed design
7. Hire developers and testers to implement and test design
8. Launch product

How does this sound as an outline? I think getting a company on board to be the guinea pig client would be very beneficial, and the earlier their input is gained the better, though obtaining such a client could be challenging.