Working hours as a salaried worker

Luap76

Hi there

I have been working in retail for the past 25 years and I receive my salary once a month. I do a good job but I have to say that it really annoys me that for the past 25 years I have been rostered to work 45 hours per week as a manager whereas staff work 39 hours and if they go above this they are paid overtime.

I have calculated that I have worked two and a half years for free over the past twenty five years which I feel is an abuse of power by my employer. I feel employers abuse their position when paying salaries by expecting their employees to work extra for free

A few obvious questions spring to mind immediately:

Do you have a contract of employment, and, if so what hours does it state?
Are you a member of a trade union, and if so, what do they have to say about unpaid overtime?
Are there other managers and if so, are they treated differently to you?
Have you raised this problem with your employer?

Are managers not compensated financially for the longer working week and lack of overtime i.e., paid more than their staff?

I'm guessing they are but from your perspective it's not sufficient compensation for the additional effort. Over the past 25 years have you asked for a pay rise/change in terms? Alternatively if the benefits are so skewed in the favour of staff would you consider seeking a demotion?

If none of the above brings you any satisfaction and/or you've been unhappy for 25 years why not change employer. There are plenty of good employers out there.

It is standard enough what salaried managers are not paid overtime, but then again they are not rostered for a 45 hours per week. As Skrooge says, managers are paid more to compensate. It all ties into your contract etc.

Other factors also come into play: You have to get at least 8% of hours worked as holidays. What happens of you exceed for than 48 hours per week in a 13 week period?

A few obvious questions spring to mind immediately: