Which PRSA given that I need to transfer my DB Pension -they're winding up the scheme

K

Katie

Hi,
I was laid-off last year and have now been informed that I need to transfer my DB Pension lump-sum (they're winding up the scheme) into buy-out bond or PRSA or another company. The 'other company' option is out - I'm studying and doing part-time work so don't think I'll be in a permanent-pensionable job for quite a while unfortunately.

Meantime I've a deadline of May 27 (Friday) to make a decision on this! I think PRSA is the way to go. I've about 43K of a transfer value plus 51k in AVCs.

I attempted to follow the Which PRSA Is Best thread but that discussion seemed to go back to 2003. Any advice now on the best current option for PRSA given that I'm NOT in permanent employment and don't currently have much dosh to top-up this PRSA if and when I start it.

Could I just start it with the lumpsum and top it up with a nominal fee until I find my perfect job or a rich man to keep me?

Thanks for any advice, KT

Re: Which PRSA given...?

Katie said:
Hi,
I was laid-off last year and have now been informed that I need to transfer my DB Pension lump-sum (they're winding up the scheme) into buy-out bond or PRSA or another company.

Meantime I've a deadline of May 27 (Friday) to make a decision on this! I think PRSA is the way to go. I've about 43K of a transfer value plus 51k in AVCs.

You should carefully assess the charges on each option. It may well be the case that a BOB would work out cheaper than a PRSA in some cases. You should shop around and, if necessary, engage the services of a good independent advisor.

I attempted to follow the Which PRSA Is Best thread but that discussion seemed to go back to 2003. Any advice now on the best current option for PRSA given that I'm NOT in permanent employment and don't currently have much dosh to top-up this PRSA if and when I start it.