Victims of the Legal Profession / Victims of Irish Solicitors Society

RainyDay

A new domain, RateYourSolicitor.com has been purchased by the VLPS. It will be similar to the popular RateMyTeachers.ie site. Contributions from members of the public are very welcome, please send to [email protected]

Rainy - Many thanks for this! It could be the beginning of a safer more ethical legal profession, much needed in Ireland especially as the society goes through rapid cultural and social change.

Aren't the the website and email addresses a bit loaded and suggest that they may only be interested in negative feedback? Wonder how many of those people who ranted about the inequity of anonymous (critical) feedback on RateMyTeacher will turn a blind eye to the same approach being taken with another paid profession?

I am not a lawyer by the way.

ClubMan said:
Wonder how many of those people who ranted about the inequity of anonymous (critical) feedback on RateMyTeacher will turn a blind eye to the same approach being taken with another paid profession?
Just for the record, when I checked out RatemyTeacher for my old school, I was pleasantly surprised to see that the majority of feedback was positive, the vast majority of feedback was sensible and responsible (even where critical). There were a very small number of silly/slagging off posts.

Having just had a look at the VLPS site, I would not be encouraged to post anything on it.

Overall, it just looked like a collection of rants - with lots of allegations stated as facts. Some of these may indeed have some substance to them - but everything was presented in far too extreme a form, to encourage any reasoned argument or discussion (like we have here on AAM all the time !).

Ditto euroD, although note the different sites - one is rate the lawyer the other is crooked lawyer.
I wonder if we had a website "lawyers fees" would it work? I bet they would get you to sign up for non disclosure :)