Tax Deadline for Sole Trader who started business in 2006

bearaman

Hi All,
I'm a sole trader who started business in March 2006. I did a tax return with an accountant on March 2007 and this seems to cover me for 2006. I signed up to ROS to do my taxes for 2007. However, when I go to the dropdown menu to choose my tax period, the latest period available is 2006.
Does this mean that I don't have a make a return until Oct 2008? Do I have to pay preliminary tax this year?
Thanks,
Bearaman

The tax return you did with an accountant in March this year should cover your actual tax liability for 2006 (Mar-Dec) and your preliminary tax for 2007 (Jan-Dec). that's all you need to submit before Oct 31st this year.

Next yearthen, you would submit actual tax for 2007 (less preliminary tax already paid) and preliminary tax for 2008.

The tax return you did with an accountant in March this year should cover your actual tax liability for 2006 (Mar-Dec) and your preliminary tax for 2007 (Jan-Dec). that's all you need to submit before Oct 31st this year.

Next yearthen, you would submit actual tax for 2007 (less preliminary tax already paid) and preliminary tax for 2008.

So, no need to submit this every two months???

Actually due to commencement rules you do not have to submitt your 2006 return until Oct 2008, likewise in October 2008 you will have to pay the following: Actual liability for 2006, actual liability for 2007 and Preliminary tax for 2008. if you wish you can make a payment for pt 2007 in Octomer 07 but you are not obliged to do so.

Thanks everybody for your helpful replies.
So, to sum up, I can pay my pt for 2007 this October but I don't have to. I can also wait until Oct 2008 to pay my tax libility for 2007 plus pt for 2008. Hope that correct.
Thanks again.
Bearaman

You are confusing VAT & income tax. If you are confused, then you should get professional assistance to make sure you are properly complying with all your tax obligations.