Student Loan in UK - procedure/repayment query?

philcheetham

I graduated from a UK university back in 2005. I studied for three years and each year recieved a student loan of £3,000. I am from the UK, but moved to Ireland in 2007 and have lived here, with no intention of returning to England.

My mum has recently recieved a letter from the student loans company in England, after not sending any letter for a number of years, stating that they are now chasing repayments on the student loan, and they are threatening her with baliffs if it is not repaid. I never knew anything about this - granted, I should have contacted them, but didn't - surely if they have not contacted me for a number of years they cannot just threaten this straight away? Can they?

What is the procedure in terms of this student loan? I was trying to look on their website and got confused by how much i would have to pay back, over what period of time etc. It is highly likely given my current situation, in terms of my own income, family situation etc that i will be unable to pay this back.

Any advice would be much appreciated. I am worried and my mum is very worried.

Thanks

Phil

(Not sure if in right section)

dont worry its nothing call them up tell them the situatuion they dont cahce the money for years as you have to earn over a certain limit which only very few do. on 3k your payments will be 60 a month max for the next 10 years or so. thats only if you earn over about 20k

dont worry its nothing call them up tell them the situatuion they dont cahce the money for years as you have to earn over a certain limit which only very few do. on 3k your payments will be 60 a month max for the next 10 years or so. thats only if you earn over about 20k

It is 3k a year for three years though, so 9k. Does this still go with what you are saying?