'reserve not met' - bidding on eBay

joanod

Hi all,

Ive been watching an item online that I would like to buy there are a few hours left. I am not very experienced at this so I would like a little advice from more experienced purchasers.

Heres my problem the item has a reserve and I dont know what it is, it has a buy it now tag and there doesnt seem to be anybody else bidding at the moment.

What should I do:

Offer the buy it now price
keep bidding in small amounts
or
Ask the seller what he will sell it for
Tell the seller my best price below the buy it now figure and hope or the best?????

I think its a bargin and I would really like it!!

Any advice would be great..

Thanks

J

Re: Help - 'reserve not met' - I need advice on bidding

Keep bidding in small amounts until you reach the reserve price and/or the maximum you're prepared to pay. Only click on "buy it now" if you think it's a one-off item that you won't easily find again and you're happy to pay that price (plus p&p — have you checked that cost?)

Moved to Miscellaneous Non-financial Questions.

Yep I checked the p&p cost and I am ok with that.

Could it be that the buy it now price is the reserve - would that be possible.

Thank you for taking the time to reply DrMoriarty.

J

The reserve is probably slightly lower than the "buy it now" price; if you keep bidding in small increments you'll find out!

Have you checked the seller's reputation/feedback?

Feedback is excellent all v. good

put in the max your willing to buy or just email the seller and ask what the reserve is.if its 20e then put a bid in for 20.50 and hope no one else bids.

If it's ebay or similar, then chances are all the bidding will happen in the final hour or few minutes of the auction.
If you think it's a bargain at the buy it now price, then buy it now before you lose it.
Other wise the current bid price is almost irrelevant.

What's the item number? I might put in a rival bid at the last minute. ;)