Rent Relief and Mortgage Interest Relief

A

An Dagda

Hi, forgive a newbie here, but I cant find exactly the answer to this dilemma I have.
I own a property and have been renting it out for the last few years. I do not live in this property I in fact rent a property in another city.
For the past few years I have been getting Mortgage Interest Relief on the property I own.

My first question is can I claim rent relief for the apartment I currently live in while also claim mortgage interest relief on the house I own ?

My second question is this...My landlord recently requested my PPS number as he wants to claim rent relief himself. I'm wondering if giving him my PPS number will cause problems for me, as I'm not sure if me claiming Mortgage Interest Relief while not living in it is actually legal? I dunno for sure, the terminology used in any documentation I've seen is not clear.

Any help or advice here would be much appreciated thanks :)

Your landlord is looking for your PPS number so he can register the tenency for his property with the (Private residential tenency board) PRTB. This will also allow him to claim the interest (75%) on his mortgage against his rental income. You should have also done this for the property you own. If you haven't you can't claim mortgage interest relief for your own property. You should also be making a return to the revenue for your rental property that you own each year.

Thanks for your reply Galwayboy. I was not aware of this tbh. So only if I sign up for the PRTB can I then be allowed to claim mortgage interest relief on an house I no longer live in? Ok I will act on this, but what do u think might happen with the fact that I have not lived in it for about 3 years and have been claiming Mortgage Interest Relief since then? Will revenue be trying to get this back ? And will they find out about all this when my landlord supplies them with my PPS number ?