query on quote for renovation/extension

P

phlux

Hi
I'm hoping someone in the know could advise if the quotes below are realistic for renovation/extending a 3 bed terraced cottage:

Demolish existing extension, strip ceiling, walls & floors - 10,000
Remove roof, new timber roof structure & slating & lead work to roof & insulation - 16,000 (re-using existing slates)
30m2 extension (flat roof & windows) - 38,000
Electrics - 8500
Plumbing -3200
Heating system (rads & gas boiler) - 8,500
New timber floors & insulation - 8,500
Dry line all external walls/plasterboard ceilings - 8,500
Plastering - 8,000
Kitchen - 6,500
Bathroom - 3,200
Tiling - 3,500

We were pretty shocked with the prices and are hoping to get another quote.
The house is approx 85sqm.

Thanks in advance

I'm no expert, but that sounds nuts. Have you got other quotes? We are just completing a garage conversion (ok a small job) - and our quote was €4500. We had estimated €5000.

Get at least 2 more quotes!

Even if you are happy with the quote you should always get three. I got three and was shocked at how expensive one of them was compared to the other two (needless to say I was able to eliminate that one right away).

Just one thing, your figure for the kitchen - you should look into getting the kitchen units yourself and only paying your contractor for installation. I always seem to be recommending Ikea on here, but I got my kitchen from them, it was excellent quality and excellent value and my contractor installed it. If you download the Ikea kitchen planner (here) it will even tell you how much what you want will cost. (And if it works out too expensive then you can change layout / fronts / hardware etc until it comes in on budget).