PTSB must reduce the Mortgage Interest Rate on Rental Properties

D

DEK

5.99% is a rate that would be OK for a credit card or car loan but not for a mortgage interest rate on a rental property. I'm not a Property Developer but bought a rental property as an "investment". I'm not looking for sympathy because the value has crashed or debt forgiveness.

However I do find it unethical that PTSB can charge 5.99% on a mortgage particularly in a Bank that is government supported in a market where it is impossible to change provider.

What interst rate do you think it should be? And how do you arrive at that rate?

5.99% is the rate I'm currently being charged.

I accept that a commercial rate should be slightly higher. However 5.99% is almost twice AIB's lowest rate.

The rate should be at least 1% lower. If it is not lowered I will have to seriously look at stopping the repayments as the difference between the rent and the interest payments is too much.

Doesn't seem to be to much support here for pstb investor mortgage holders dek, but you are right, pstb are screwing me as well with their svr rate,

Me too but it is difficult to fight for reductions to investment mortgages, doesn't attact the same sympathy as somebody's home

2 often-heard warnings: -

"Warning: The value of your investment may go down as well as up."

"Warning. You should not deal in leveraged products unless you understand the product and the associated risks."

Investment is risky. No risk, no reward. Leveraged investment is more risky than unleveraged investment. These are the facts.

In the event that interest rates for investor mortgages are reduced, someone still has to cover that cost - I'm not saying whether you're right or wrong, but unless you can say who should it be you aren't really proposing anything?

2 often-heard warnings: -

"Warning: The value of your investment may go down as well as up."