PRSI Claim - Leaving Ireland

F

flory

I have been working in Ireland for four years and have made PRSI contributions since the time I arrived. Though, as I understand it I can't avail of the associated health benefits until I make 52 weeks of PRSI payments (e.g. roughly in excess of four years of payments). I am returning to my home country indefinitely in a few weeks and wonder about all those PRSI contributions made without benefits received. Irealand have an agreement with other countries to allow health benefits, though to qualify you still need the 52 week quota payment. Is there a mechanism to claim back PRSI payments, or at least make use of the existing payments?

Thanks

52 weeks of PRSI payments = 1 year
How does this equate to "in excess of four years of payment" ? Are you confusing it with 52 months ?

if you come from another eu country with an agreement with ireland you can transfer your payments of prsi to your home country to avial of the benefits in that country.

I lived in uk for 10 years and paid their PRSI (NI) and on moving back to ireland tfr my contributions and it is now as if i have 10 years prsi contributions in ireland.

I dont think you would be able to get a refund of contributions paid, I know in the UK they allow you to opt out of some benefits and to pay a reduced rate of contribution while you are living and working there, but I dont know if this applies in Ireland but would imagine its too late to get now regardless.

You could try to contact the citizens advice bureau and ask them.