Property Path - Help or Hindrance?

qwerty08

Dear all,

I would like to apologise in advance for the rant but I am new to this and even at this early stage I just cant get over the level of confusion, misinformation and ineptitude surrounding this whole process re: AH and AHI

To be honest it seems to me the only place to get any form of information on the whole subject is through this forum! Just to give a bit of background on my own case, I am a new graduate who is due to take up a position in Dublin which involves a contract for 3 years. I've spent the last two years in Dublin already and have reached the stage where I am no longer willing to pay someone else's mortgage! (If i'm contracted for the next 3 years, you're talking about 500 p/m rent for 36 months = 18,000 DOWN THE DRAIN)

Motivated by this, I started to seriously look at the prospect of affordable housing last week. I've read nearly every thread on the subject on here and found the information invaluable! I didnt even realise there were 2 schemes until i read it here.

So after much searching during the week, it seems to me the normal affordable house SCHEME is a non starter in my case given that the waiting lists are gone so long, i'd probably be out of contract by the time i'd get something.

So....

I like many others have seen recently the advertisements in papers regarding houses for sale in places like adamstown which fall under the affordable housing format. From the formum I am to understand that these fall under under the affordable housing initiative i.e. they cost a little more but there is practically no wait involved (so long as your registered for affordable housing in the first place)

Now this sounds great to me cos initial talks with the banks have told me provided one of my parents act as guarantor i'll get 300k.

(Now here's where i get P****d off)