One man company - car lease options

sinbadsailor

What is the best way to take a company car. I am a one man software company and am looking to run a vehicle through my company.

Contract Hire, Car Lease/Lease Purchase etc.

I have no experience in running a company car and what it entails

Any help appreciated

I'm in a similar position and I just picked up a jeep under a finance lease with the bank. Basically, the bank puts up 100% finance on the vehicle and I pay back the monthly installments and claim the VAT back on each payment every month. It's the most popular way to finance vehicles as far as i know but everyone's circumstances are different. I'd suggest giving Lombard a ring and ask some questions. They're really helpful and they explain everything in detail. All the big banks would have this service but I got a really good rate from Lombard as I bank with Ulster Bank.

Not sure you're looking for a commercial or not but BIK will be a big factor if it's not a commercial.

Vehicle wise I wouldbe looking at a Land Cruiser SWB or any number of saloon cars....so does BIK differ then depending on commercial or not? BIk is for private use essentially isn't it?

I just bought a LandCruiser SWB on Thursday, and love it!!

As for BIK, I think if you get a car (i.e. not a commercial) then the BIK is levied on 30% of it's value at purchase for the duration of the term. So, if you finance the car over 5 years, then you will be paying the same level of BIK in year 5 as you did in year 1, even though the car value is nowhere near what the value was in year 1. This why a lot of people change their company cars frequently, after say 1 or 2 years.

For commercial vehicles, I think the BIK is 5% only. Plus tax is only €253. If you buy a 2.9 diesel car (vectra, mondeo,...) then your tax will be a lot more.

I may not be 100% on this as I'm new to it myself, but I'm just trying to remember all the things my accountant told me a few weeks back.