New Job - Pregnancy?

AileenF

I am due to switch jobs and will begin my new job next month in a small private IT company. However, I want to start having a family Just wondering how this would effect my job if i became pregnant? I dont want to put my life on hold for my career as thats what I have been doing for the past 4 years.

Let me know your thoughts?

Re: New Job - Pregnancy??

It wouldn't affect your job per se, but if you are on probation then you may not be entitled to the normal maternity benefits available to employees who are permanent. Having said that I would assume it would take you at least a few months to get pregnant in the first place, adding 9 months to that is a year so you'd have time to get used to the idea.

On the other hand just wait until you're made permanent . . .

I am due to switch jobs and will begin my new job next month in a small private IT company. However, I want to start having a family Just wondering how this would effect my job if i became pregnant? I dont want to put my life on hold for my career as thats what I have been doing for the past 4 years.

Let me know your thoughts?

just wondering - did you not think of your need to start a family prior to getting new job - surely it would have been better to stay at old company for a few more months then leave.

ney001 why should she have thought about it before moving jobs? The two are not related unless Aileen has concerns about entitlements.

Aileen I wouldn't worry about getting pregnant after starting your new job. You are entitled to have a job AND get pregnant AND be protected by anti discrimmination laws.

Re: New Job - Pregnancy??

It wouldn't affect your job per se, but if you are on probation then you may not be entitled to the normal maternity benefits available to employees who are permanent.

I thought normal maternity benefits were based on previous prsi records. If the OP paid prsi in her previous job, then what might she not be entitled to?