New college grad, no idea what to do with money long term.

bogmandem

Personal details

Income and expenditure
Annual gross income from employment or profession: ~$150k

Type of employment: Self employed / contracting for a US company

In general I'm saving. I have about 1k per month in fixed costs.
Leaves me with about 10k.

Summary of Assets and Liabilities
20k in savings

Other borrowings – car loans/personal loans etc
None

Other savings and investments:

Do you have a pension scheme? Nope

Do you own any investment or other property? Nope

Other information which might be relevant

Life insurance: Nope

What specific question do you have or what issues are of concern to you?
I graduated from uni this year. Working as a contractor in tech with annual contract value of ~$150k.
However I've no idea what to do with my money and would like some guidance.

I don't have an accountant; although I realise I should go sort that out soon.
I don't want to buy a house.
Beyond that I'm guessing that I should start putting money in to investments, assume a 7% return, and then put 10/15k a year for retirement.
I have the inclination to get a financial advisor; but then also wonder if that's just a waste.

What should I do regarding tax, operating under a business, investing? Any and all guidance would be welcome.

Last edited:
At that salary rate I would 100% buy somewhere to live. I can't imagine putting up with all the hardships of renting if you are able to get the deposit together to buy somewhere. You can still have lots of fun given that the cost of owning is lower than renting.

I don't want to buy a house.

Perfectly understandable that you would not want to buy a house as it would tie you down at too young an age.

However, a person's first financial priority is to buy a house. So you should put yourself in a position to be able to buy a house, if and when, you are ready to do so.

Don't invest in anything inflexible e.g. a 5 year bond.