Mileage and subsistence on a long term contract

tadpole

I am an IT contractor working through my own limited company. The company is registered in Cork, where I am renting a house. I have got an 18 months contract in Dublin. I come to the capital on Monday mornings and go back to Cork on Friday evenings to spend the weekend at home.

The question I have is whether I can claim mileage/travel expenses for the Monday trips to and Friday trips from Dublin + pay myself a per-diem for Mon-Fri based on the civil service subsistence rates as outlined in IT54?

Thank you.

Revenue issue the following leaflets :-

Motoring expenses
[broken link removed]
Subsistence expenses
[broken link removed]

Hope these are of help

Revenue issue the following leaflets :-

Motoring expenses
[broken link removed]
Subsistence expenses
[broken link removed]

Hope these are of help
Thank you for the links, Graham. I have seen these leaflets already and they do not really answer my questions. These guidelines mostly deal with reimbursement of the expenses incurred by an employee on an occasional travel on business. My case is different, so I am hoping to get an advise from someone who has similar experience, or/and understands the legislation well.

Thanks anyway, I appreciate any comments and suggestions!

Hi there,

IT Contractor also. I was claiming mileage to and from work. Was great as it was working out about 5k a year in expenses!!. But then I had to pay it all back as I found out I was in the wrong!!.

In a nutshell......

You can't claim mileage to and from your "normal" place of work. So if you work in the same building everyday for 18 months this is your normal place of work. If you are required to travel to a customer site from your office, this can be deemed as a business expense.