Health Insurance Just taken out health insurance and need a few questions answered.

faolteam

Hi folks I'm pretty new to this and was late getting my health insurance IE 59, Signify Laya 5 months in use

What I want to know is if I go to my local Doctor GP, for check up and get Flu jab, and COVID jab , am I covered , Can I claim back the consultation, and if I need a blood test can I claim that to, will this effect my renewal as a claim, thanks for advice

Last edited by a moderator:
will this effect my renewal as a claim
Health insurance is different to other insurances. Claims you make do not have any impact on your renewal price. There's no such going as a no claims discount with health insurance.

Laya don't have a waiting period for outpatient expenses, so you should be able to claim a refund for what your policy covers.

What I want to know is if I go to my local Doctor GP, for check up and get Flu jab, and COVID jab , am I covered , Can I claim back the consultation, and if I need a blood test can I claim that to, will this effect my renewal as a claim, thanks for advice

VHI usually provide what they call a Table of Benefits and I'm sure Laya provide something similar to enable you to check exactly what you are covered for so worthwhile checking that out with them.

Covid injections are free of charge but flu vaccinations are only free to people in the 'at risk' groups such as elderly, immunocompromised etc.

As mentioned before check your cover with Laya and they will confirm if you are covered for outpatient expenses which would cover doctor's visit and blood tests which are often done by the practice nurse/phlebotomist.

Myself and Mrs C are both with Laya and yes you are covered.
Our policy's cover €30 per doctors appointment and have in the past paid for Doctors appointments, blood tests and different vaccines
The Covid and/or the Flu jab is free but you might have to pay for an appointment to administer at the surgery, not sure about the Pharmacy