Jobseeker & Rent Allowance

johnkenn

I lost my job due to long term illness. My wife only work part time (17hrs a week) and we have a 7 month old baby. I have been working in the country for 2 years before i lost my job. Can i get job seeker allowance and rent allowance?

Are you fit to work? If you are not, you may not be eligible to sign on (because you must be available for work and looking for work to claim Jobseekers). You might be eligible for Illness Benefit based on your PRSI contributions.

If you are available for work, you can make a claim for Jobseekers Benefit which is based on your PRSI contributions. If you don't have enough contributions for Jobseeker's Benefit, you can apply for Jobseeker's Allowance which is means-tested.

You can apply for Rent Supplement if you've been renting for a minimum of 6 months. It's a means-tested payment, and entitlement is based on family income and a maximum rent limit. Contact the SWA officer who is based either at your local HSE health centre or SW local office.

I am fit work,but it must be a part-time work. I have already made my application for jobseeker and Rent Supplement. I just want to know how long it take to process all application? because i am having big financial problem to take care of my family and paying my rent now.

You can apply for Supplementary Welfare Allowance (SWA) while you are waiting for your Jobseeker claim to be processed - it's a means-tested basic income. The SWA officer who deals with your Rent Supplement claim may also deal with SWA claims, so you should contact him/her.

If you apply for Rent Supplement at a central office (by post) then contact the locally-based SWA officer for the basic SWA payment.

I was told by the SWA that they approved my application for supplementary Welfare. I just want to know if i will get paid for only this week or they are going to pay me when i submit my application?