If I am not registered for VAT, do I charge VAT?

DublinSteve

Hello,

Maybe this is a silly question...

But if I am a sole trader and I am not registered for VAT, do I charge VAT?

Thank you :)

No, but be aware that the turnover level for the registrationof most sole trader businesses is €25500 if your business is not an exempt activity.

Regards,

Ikeano

Ikeanoamback said:
...if your business is not an exempt activity.

Thank you.

I don't understand your last point though.

I thought you did not need to register for VAT/pay VAT, regardless of the company type, if the company earns under €25k-ish a year?

DublinSteve said:
Thank you.

I don't understand your last point though.

I thought you did not need to register for VAT/pay VAT, regardless of the company type, if the company earns under €25k-ish a year?

If you are below the threshold you don't need to register and you don't charge or reclaim any VAT

Hi Dublinsteve,

There are a number of activities which are exempt from vat registration a full list of which can be found from the following link [broken link removed]

Ikeano is right. There is one other slight sting in the tail, that the limit is for a 'tax year' so if you go over the threshold in any year, then all the amounts should have VAT applied i.e. its not prospective. This is difficult to predict so you need to be careful. On balance if your clients are VAT registered themselves, then if you are likely to exceed limit, you should register at start. What business are you in and Ikeano and others will try and assist.

Hi All

I would like to expand on the original query if I may.

I plan to set up as a sole trader and expect to below the threshold and will not register for VAT.

I want to import products from UK and sell to end consumers here.
I may also order from Irish suppliers

1) If I am not registered in Ireland, will the UK supplier charge me VAT