If an Irish bank goes down? So what?

gullmacm

I'm a bit of a novice here but can somebody explain why anybody, other than shareholders and those with deposits above €100k,would worry about an Irish bank failure?
In such circumstances why would the government pump millions of euro of taxpayers money in to support it in such circumstances?
Would they not be better just to let it fail?
Does the wider economy really suffer as a result? How?

Imagine an economy based on moving wheelbarrows of cash around. That's what you'd have without banks. It would grind to a halt. Banks are at heart of our economy. We need stable trustworthy banks for the economy to function. One big bank failure would erode trust in all banks. Much as I hate the "moral hazard" of a bail-out or the "Too big to fail" doctrine...

Yes, but if one of the banks is operating in a wreckless manner, over-extending itself with poor investment choices, is it not better to let it fail? If there is a consequent market opportunity for some other bank to fill the gap, then that will happen if it make business sense.
so, no need for any taxpayer to get involved. Where is the problem?

If all the banks were to go down then I can see an issue with the wheelbarrow.

If BOI or AIB went bust, I could see problems due to the high % of transactions that go through each of these banks. But one of the smaller banks - I know it would be inconvenient for their customers, but I personally think it would be better to let them fail.

Banking is an essential service, not an optional one. People and businesses need to use banks, so "losing confidence" is not a big deal as people will NEED bank accounts regardless of whether they have confidence in the system or not.

Let a small bank fail but protect the big ones? - if this happened you would take out all the other little small banks as well. Anyway it's all 100% guaranteed now!