How to bring down running cost of heat pump? Help!

record

I have a heat pump that uses an air-to-water heat source. This is my first year using the system, but the running costs are astronomical!

I have been keeping a daily record of nighttime / daytime ESB units used. On average, I'm using 30 units during the day, and 35 at night. This costs me a total of about €9 per day! Yesterday, things went out of hand when the daily running cost went as high as €13. (I know the outside temp also fell, but this is crazy stuff.)

I understood that the cost of running the system would be about €2 per day, but even if that was out by 100%, I'm still way over what the costs should be.

The system is set up so that it makes best use of the night-time rates, I have had the engineer who fitted the system out to check it out, but to no avail. At this rate, I'd be far better just getting in an oil-burning boiler.

Some fact on my house - 3,000 sq. foot, well insulated, underfloor heating downstairs, rads upstairs (hardly ever turned on). UFH set for 21 degrees at night and 17 degrees during the day.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

I wouldn't have thought €9/day was high for a 3000 sq. ft. home for an aerothermal system. Is this an direct or indirect system? What co-efficient do the product suppliers claim?

Hi Record

Was your unit sized correctly, ie was the theoretical demand calculated. The days of sizing a heat source by the sq footage are long gone. From my past experiance with suppliers the norm with all primary heat sources was to over size the unit, thinking a warm customer was a happy customer, but with improvements in building regs and an understanding of the value of airtightness this has at long last changed.
e9 a day is definitely a lot to pay. I would be talking to the installer of the unit, ensure all stats are working, maybe install data loggers to monitor the output trends v demand.

Thanks very much for the replies.