Farm Transfer From Parents to Son Queries

N

newby1234

Hello,

I am seeking some advice on the costs and options associated with the transfer of a farm from my parents to me. I am only using this forum to build my knowledge in this area and I will be seeking professional help on the issue also.

I am under 35, and not farming the land. I have a 3rd level degree but no farming qualifications.

My Parents are both over 55.

I think I would qualify as a farmer in regard to agricultural relief.

I would estimate that the value of the farm is about 1,000,000, based on less than 100 acres with no zoned land.

I think this will put me below the CAT threshold, but changes from 90% to a lower value in the future may change this.

The land has been rented out for the last 7 years and the early retirement scheme was in place for the 10 years previous to this. Does the affect the CGT position of my parents with regard to retirement relief if a transfer takes place.

The land would have been farmed by my parents for over 10 years previous to retiring.

I would not be planning on farming the land (or selling it) after the transfer. I would consider farming it if it reduced tax costs. I realise that I cannot sell that land for 6 years and have to be resident in Ireland for 3 years after the transfer.

I also have a site on the land that I have not transferred into my name yet. Would this have any effect on the situation. Should I transfer the site regardless before I start building my house.

Thanks for your time and advice.

Hi

I think you have covered alot already. But there are 3 taxes involved:

Capital Gains Tax:
The gift of the farm by your parents is subject to CGT.