Early 50s couple, kids grown, looking for investment options for lump sum savings

bovis

Hi,
Thanks to the organisers of this forum which I regularly enjoy. I would be very grateful for any advice for a Early 50s couple, kids grown, looking for investment options for lump sum savings

Personal details

Spouse’s/Partner's age: 53

Number and age of children: 2 adult children - both finished uni, in first jobs, living at home

Income and expenditure
Annual gross income from employment or profession: 65K
Annual gross income of spouse: 60K

Monthly take-home pay: ~5300

Type of employment: I am a teacher (new entrant post 2011), spouse is private sector

In general we are saving every month (~1000K) as we got into the habit to save for childrens uni but since the last child has just finished we plan on continuing to save for our future.

Summary of Assets and Liabilities
Family home worth €500k with no mortgage
Holiday home worth €120k with a small 10K mortgage
Cash on deposit: €110K
Defined Contribution pension fund: Total: ~640K (between myself and spouse)
- breakdown (of 640K):
  • Me: €475k (in Irish Life previous employer fund and TUI AVC fund)
  • Me: ~€70K in Australian Super (accessible at 60)
  • Spouse - €86K (in New Ireland - employee pension fund)
  • Spouse - ~€7K in Australian Super (accessible at 60)

Defined Benefit pension fund:
  • Spouse has DB pension worth ~3K per annum in retirement at age 65
  • I have a Public Sector Single Pension Scheme (from teaching) that will pay out about 10K per year if I work til 68 or about 5K if I work til 60. This is the “new entrant” pension since I moved from the private sector into teaching only relatively recently. Thankfully I did the heavy lifting on AVCs before I joined the public service.
Second home mortgage information
Lender: AIB