Company Share ownership plan - what tax am I liable

T

Tea drinker

Hi,
I am part of the HP SOP, which I believe is a revenue approved one.
I have been buying shares for a few years and have sold them around June.
As the shares were only sold in June is this the date that the shares were "excercised" or is that when they were purchased?

From what I gather I owe normal rate of tax on the difference between purchase price and FMV, but from when is that due, purchase date or sell date? Also I am liable for CGT on any gains....

Thanks for any help.

Hi,
I am part of the HP SOP, which I believe is a revenue approved one.
Does the company/scheme handbook not outline the tax treatment of the scheme? Revenue approved schemes may have options for tax deferrals etc. but that may only be if you hold the shares for a certain minimum period or something like that?
As the shares were only sold in June is this the date that the shares were "excercised" or is that when they were purchased?
The exercise date is the date on which you acquired them.
From what I gather I owe normal rate of tax on the difference between purchase price and FMV, but from when is that due, purchase date or sell date?
Income tax is normally due on the difference between the market price and the discounted acquisition/exercise price on the day of acquisition and is normally payable within 30 days via a [broken link removed]. Revenue approved schemes may be different - I'm not familiar with them.
Also I am liable for CGT on any gains....
Yes.

Does the company/scheme handbook not outline the tax treatment of the scheme? Revenue approved schemes may have options for tax deferrals etc. but that may only be if you hold the shares for a certain minimum period or something like that?
Thanks Clubman,
there is no handbook I am aware of and the web links don't work to local coordinator, HR have no idea and refer to the Revenue site.