Can I ask for a rent reduction?

mrsmonypenny

Hi everybody,

Just looking for a bit of advice......

I have been renting a house for the past 4 years in North County Dublin. Its a small 2 bed, mid terraced house. I am recently married, were a professional working couple, and we have one son. When we originally moved in, the rent was €850, and over the years has increased, to which at the moment we are paying €1100 per month. The house is rented through an agent, and I have never met nor spoken to the landlord. Throughout my time here, I have been a model tenant, rent always paid on time, the house is immaculate, Ive re-painted the house twice, replaced carpet, and just good general upkeep and maintenance as if it were my own home, and I have never picked up the phone and asked the landlord for a thing, not so much as a lightbulb! ( Even though as a tenant I know im entitled to ask the landlord, but I just felt awkward and a bit cheeky asking). I never hear from the agent either, I just recieve a new agreement every year in the post, sign it, and send it back.

At the moment, we are trying desperately to get onto the property ladder, and with all of our current outgoings, are struggling to save, and with our current ecomonic climate, were finding things difficult in every day life, ie, the daily cost of living, etc.

The current agreement is coming up for review in march, and I was thinking of asking for a reduction in rent. Im Looking for advice on....

If this is a good idea to ask / Am I entitled with the decreasing rent amounts?
If yes, how much is acceptable to ask for? At the moment the market comparison in our area is anything between €850 and €950 pm.