arrears in notional service

M

mumof4

Hello all
I was looking for a bit of advise - I got a call today from our HR head of department - local authority - who informed me that due to an 'error' my payment contributions toward my notional service buy back of almost 9 years - I have been contributing since Aug 2001 - has not increased with my payrise/increments and therefore I have arrears - the value was not given but will be fowarded in a letter to me later this week -
I first got a letter of offer from my HR section in 2001 stating the repayment figure spread over the next 31 years - the buy back was to bring me up to 40 years service - I was also given an one-off payment option at the time but opted for the fortnightly repayment figure - I still have this letter and this is what my payments has been based on for the last 8 years -
where do I stand ? is the error not a HR problem? do I have to pay back?

You do have to pay back. While it's a payroll error, the fact is that they undercharged you. It unfortunately underlines the importance of ensuring that you check your payslip and make sure you understand fully all of the deductions and the basis on which they are made.

The fortnightly deduction will probably - indeed, should - have been expressed to you in two ways: firstly, that it is a percentage deduction which is linked to salary, and secondly what that actual amount was at the time. If they did not inform you that it was a percentage deduction they should have done, but I do not believe you would have any recourse against them since the terms and conditions are set out in a number of circulars.

As the arrears may now be moderately substantial, it would be reasonable for your employer to offer you the option of going immediately to the correct deduction level and making an agreed payment plan for the arrears if you are not willing / able to pay them at present.