Age 30, should i do AVCs

54red

I am a 30 year old teacher and met a cornmarket rep this wk. Of course he tried to push everything on me but I signed nothing. What I am interested in knowing more about is AVCs. Can anyone give me more information? I only began teaching in sept 04 which means I can't retire till I'm 65 (I think). But i would like to retire with full pension aged 60. So what are my options? pros/cons? Explain it to me like I'm a 2 yr old because finances aren't my strong point!

My father is a secondary teacher with superannuation, Cornmarket AVC and an Eagle Star PRSA-AVC.

I do a small bit of advising teachers on their pensions.

My advice: first of all, make sure you fully understand your pension scheme, notional service purchase, AVCs, etc.

Don't rush into a decision.

My advice, after doing AVCs for several years and seeing my savings grow very little is to start buying back years NOW through the notional service scheme. This scheme will give you a guaranteed return, the AVC gives NO guarantee.

Agree with above - first preference for most people would be buying service.

Second choice would be PRSA AVC.

Very last choice would seem to be Cornmarket - and even then I think it might be better to do nothing than go that route.

thanks for replies, cornmarket does not seem to be the option to take... Can somebody explain the notional service scheme? is this run by the department or who do i contact?

Maybe a silly question but i also cant retire till 65, even then i will only have 38 years built up - Can i buy back say 7 years and retire with full pension at 60?

Maybe a silly question but i also cant retire till 65, even then i will only have 38 years built up - Can i buy back say 7 years and retire with full pension at 60?

Hi, just went through this whole issue as I re-entered teaching after a few years away. As a "New Entrant" you can retire anytime from 55 to 65 and get your pension,unfortunately that's the only good news.