Health Insurance Advice appreciated on 59 year old purchasing health insurance for first time.

faolteam

Any Recommendations for first time Private Medical Insurance,,

This is my first time to do this so i am 59, so just wondering should u go for the basic plan first

Im in Good Health, Give Blood every Quarter, Non Smoker , Non Drinker, No Underlying issues

Thanks in Advance for any advice

You're probably already aware but you will be hit with a large loading when taking out health insurance older in life, under community rating.

tbh I'm not sure whether the best strategy should be to go for a basic plan now and then upgrade, and go straight for something like Laya Connect Simplicity. Note I only have familiarity with Laya plans as I'm tied to their plans via my employer.

Do you think you have a pre-existing conditions which may be subject to the below waiting period? edit - I see that you don't.
So the risk with a basic plan is that if you become aware of a condition in a few years you could be hit wiyt upgrade waiting period.

I recommend reading this guide from Laya about serving waiting periods:

If you are still serving your 5 year waiting period for pre-existing conditions*, you may serve the balance with laya healthcare. We will fully recognise the length of time you’ve spent with your previous insurer.

Should you require additional cover or benefits, a 2 year waiting period must be served before you can avail of the higher level of cover for any pre-existing conditions for which the signs or symptoms of the ailment, illness or condition began before you changed your level of cover.

Last edited:
yes every 90 days for blood and platelets i think its every 28 days ,
no im self employed i dont have a group scheme

Hi Sue i find it so Difficult with all the different choices why cant they make them fewer amount of choice,