23yr old pension advice

Anto318

Hi,

I am pretty new to all this pension stuff so some advice would be very beneficial. I am paying 5% of my monthly wage into pension and currently changing my investment options.

The company I work for are offering new pension schemes

1) Secured Performance Fund (Low Risk)
2) Eagle Star Balanced Fund
3) Consensus Managed Fund (Medium Risk)
4) Indexed Global Equity Fund (High Risk)
5) Eagle Star Dynamic Fund
6) Indexed Long Bond Fund (Annuity Protection Option)
7) Cash Fund

I am not planning on getting a mortgage in a house for another two years or so because there is a lot of travel involved in my job.

As I am only 23 I was thinking of splitting my investments:
80% Indexed Global Equity Fund
20% Secured Performance Fund.

Would this be a good option, I don't really know much about this area so any suggestion/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance
AM

you are so young to have a pension but i guess if the company contributes you are very lucky and should avail of it.
Ay 23 i would place into the highest risk 80/20 as even if falls it can climb again by the time you are going to need it.

Exactly thats what I was thinking 80% into high risk and just leave the 20% ticking over. Well the company will contribute the same amount as I am investing every month so it works out well.

Thank you for your advice, I wanted to get my pension sortedthen at least I won't really notice the money coming out of my wages and hopefully in 40+ years time I will have a substantial pension to live off and not have too many worries.

thanks again

At 23 there is little point putting 20% into secured performance. 20% ticking away is wasting away at such an early stage. You would be better to put all into a med risk.
If you really want to do a split then I would be more inclined to split between med risk and higher risk. But I would tend to put a max of 20% in the high risk. Its high risk so why put so much in just because you are 23 ?