Why is there a state contribution?

faketales

I note the state contribution starting at 0.5% and rising to 2% over 10 years.

I can kind of understand the state making a small contribution at the start to get things going but surprised to see it rise.

I have an occupational workplace DC pension. Am I correct in understanding that the state won’t contribute to that? The 2% free is pretty nice.

Perhaps it might be still good value for the state rather than have to support people without pensions in years to come?

I guess I’m asking “Where’s my 2%?!”

Auto enrolment employees will see their contribution come from their net pay.

So the state contribution is the tax credit equivalent.

Brendan
Oh interesting. Sorry I’m new to looking at this.

Does that mean it won’t impart their pension limit if they have a PRSA? Or are they allowed to?

Oh interesting. Sorry I’m new to looking at this.

Does that mean it won’t impart their pension limit if they have a PRSA? Or are they allowed to?
No one knows, AE is still years away. In theory people are going to be allowed to make AVCs into AE, but that is in the 2nd/3rd/4th phase....

If you are a standard rate tax payer this AE scheme will be slightly better than conventional schemes.
If you put €120 of take-home pay into AE the State will top that up by €40. If instead it was conventional you would be topped up by €30 tax relief if you are a standard rate taxpayer but you will be topped up by €80 is you are a 40% taxpayer. Simples.

The government is contributing to your pension via tax relief. If you're a higher rate tax payer it's €1 for every €1.50 you pay.

If you're a higher rate tax payer it's €1 for every €1.50 you pay.
Yep, as opposed to 50c top-up under AE - tax relief a full 100% better. So advice to employers and employees alike - be in AE whilst you are not a 40% taxpayer but keep an eye out and be ready to change into a tax relief scheme when you get that pay rise.

Last edited: