Why can't I get a Carpenter - what is their problem?

witchymand

I have to post this. I have rang four different carpenters over the past three weeks, all I want done is fitted wardrobes to be installed in the bedroom with a set of drawers too.
The weird thing is all the carpenters I have called are very nice on the phone and seem to fully understand what I am looking to be done in the house, and they then suggest a day but don't turn up, and don't even ring.
One guy did turn up took the measurements and said it would be no problem, and then I never heard back from him. I did try ringing him but he said he was busy all the time.
What is the story?
Are all carpenters weird or what?
I work in the Holistic field, and if someone were to ring me and ask me for a treatment, I would either say I am too booked up at the moment or just can't fit them in if I didn't have any interest, why are all these bloody carpenters nice on the phone and then completely let you down?
WEIRDOS.

This is a Letting Off Steam rather than a Homes and Gardens issue so has been moved. Only people with 50+ posts and one month+ registration under their belt can contribute.

If you are based in Dublin you could try these people, www.robeplan.ie. Firends have used them and are very happy. Mind you they supply their own wardrobes so may not be keen to do a third party's but worth a call.

Now don't get me started on plumbers ...

A good mate of mine is a plumber and when I once expressed amazement as to why he did this kind of thing — telling people he'd 'call round on Tuesday' when he/I knew there was no way in Hell, because he was on some other big job... guess what his reply was?
'Ah, if I said I couldn't do it they might not call me back again next time...'
:eek: :eek: :eek: