What could constitute proof of residence in the country for five years?

FeuFollet

How I can prove that I have been a resident in the country for the last five years? I am getting some legal document and need to prove I have been living here all along.

I already provided a letter from my employer stating that I have been working full time in Dublin since 96 but that doesnt seem enough. After all I could commute from Belfast every day.

I am asked for utility bills but don't keep them after one or two years. Same for bank statements.

Any experience of this? Can I get copies of old bills? I assume they will cost an arm and a leg or won't be available at all. Or anything from polling station?

I am still routing through old papers with my address in hope but starting to run out of ideas.

What about Revenue documents (e.g. P60s, statements of tax credits etc.) or details of your listing on the electoral register?

Did you register with a doctor. ie. GP when you moved down? What about landlord/lady contracts.

Thanks to Clubman and Ophelia for your good ideas

P60s don't include address , however PAYE tax credit forms do. I will see if GP and landlord (no written contract) can write me letters; I will also try to get something out of the electoral register.

d2x2 said:
P60s don't include address
Does that matter? If you're getting a P60 then chances are that you're resident (at least in a tax sense)? Or maybe you mean that whatever documentation you need must have proof of your address?

I assume the reason I was asked for utility bills was to show address but am not actually sure.

I will send a copy of P60s as well, after all! Better show good will and give too much info than too little.

d2x2 said:
I will send a copy of P60s as well, after all! Better show good will and give too much info than too little.
Well, it depends on who this information is being sent to I would assume. I wouldn't divulge my salary/tax details to just anybody myself.