Website hosting costs?

S

SalmonSky

Hi,

I am in the process of getting a website designed etc. The company I have doing the design work have quoted me €250.00 per annum for hosting. This appears high to me but I'm new to this. Is it reasonable to pay this for hosting?

It depends what the service levels are - disc space , download limits . If it is a basic site and you are not expecting to get visitors running into thousands a day - you could get hosting for as little as €35 euro a year in Ireland. Find out what you are getting for this 250 and whether you need it or not. I suspect that if the company's main business is design - they are just arranging the hosting for you and adding on a bit for themselves?

In 99% of cases, hosting shouldn't cost this much. My guess too would be that the company will get a significant cut from this figure. You could send them a link to (they're better than their website makes them seem!) and tell them you'd like to use them or a similar low-cost provider instead, just to let them know that you're aware what the real cost is.

That's €35 per year plus the cost of your time taken to set up and manage. If you have the time and the skills great, but if you want someone else to do it all for you then you'll have to pay extra. If they are providing all management of the domain and e-mail addresses through out the year, then the quoted costs are not unreasonable.

BTW, As an former GoDaddy customer, I don't rate them for hosting at all.

Note: I'm in the business of providing such services.